3 official sports of the Winter Olympic

The Winter Olympics is a sporting event that takes place every four years, always two years after the Summer Olympic Games. The Winter Olympics involve sports that are mostly played on snow or ice and are usually held during the winter.

The Winter Olympics have been held by eleven different countries from three continents since its inception. The first winter Olympics were organized by the city of Chamonix, France in 1924 and involved five sports divided into nine sports. However, the game has evolved to include a number of sports and discipline, with games like skiing, skiing and luge earning a permanent position in the Olympic program. Korea will host the 2018 Winter Olympics, which hosted the 1988 Summer Olympics. The 2018 games will feature 102 events in 15 sports. Here are the 3 official Winter Olympics sports.

1. High alpine skiing

Alpine skiing, also known as downhill skiing, is a winter Olympic sport whereby participants slide down snow-covered hills with fixed heel ties. The fixed heel ties do not allow participants to walk or ski uphill, they must move up mechanically. Alpine skiing is often done in ski resorts that provide services like ski lifts. In addition to the 1940s games, alpine skiing has been an event at the Winter Olympic Games since 1936. Alpine skiing has been a part of the Winter Olympic Games since 1936 and only failed in the 1940s game.

2. Biathlon

Biathlon is a winter sport involving cross-country skiing and rifle shooting. The biathlets often ski long distances with a few stops in which they are required to shoot targets with rifles. In case they missed the target, they are usually allowed to loop 150 meters as a penalty. Participants can take part in the sport individually or as a relay of a group of four, or as a mass competition. It first appeared at the 1960 Winter Olympics in Squaw Valley. Women’s Biathlon made its debut at the 1992 Winter Olympic Games in Albertville.

3. Curling

Curling is a winter sport in which the opponents skate on an iceberg towards the designated target area divided into four rounds. Two teams, each consisting of four players, took turns to slide heavy stones and hit the ball. A team is usually given eight stones. Scoring of points is usually determined by near the center of the target of rocky areas; The closer the rock is to the center of the target, the higher the score. Curling was featured in the 1924 Winter Olympic Games. It was later featured as a performance sport at the 1932 Olympic Games, 1988 and 1992. Curling was added to the Olympic’s official program.